Rhine-Main Area

The Rhine-Main Area is a dynamic, metropolitan region which includes the major cities of Mainz, Frankfurt, Offenbach, Wiesbaden, Darmstadt and Aschaffenburg. It has a total population of over 5.8 million and covers an area of 13,000 square kilometers. Thanks to central location in Western Germany, the area was a hub of industrialization during the 19th century. Many companies from a wide range of industries have their headquarters here and employ over 1.8 million people.